Biography of Pedro Miguel Etxenike Landiribar (1950-VVVV)

Physicist born in Isaba (Navarra) on June 8, 1950. Prominent theorist of the discipline of Physics of condensed matter, has made important discoveries about the prediction of electronic States in solids surface, as well as relevant contributions in the field of ion-materia interactions. Their investigations have given formula to describe how an electron loses energy to move in parallel to a surface.

In 1998 he was awarded the Prince of Asturias Award for scientific and technical research for their contributions in the field of electron microscopy and tunneling, and, in 2005, the Ministry of education and Science awarded him national research award for his contribution to the physics of the solid state, in particular in the field of the interactions of particles with surfaces, and their impulse for the creation of an international school in that area.

Formed at the Faculty of Physics of the University of Navarra, where he graduated in 1972 with extraordinary degree award and national award limit, four years later earned a doctorate (PhD) at the British University of Cambridge with a thesis on the interaction of energetic particles with the surface of solids. In 1977 he also received the degree of doctor in physical sciences from the Autonomous University of Barcelona, with extraordinary prize of doctorate for his work on excitations in solids induced by fast ions, and in 1998 the University of Cambridge awarded him the title of doctor of science.

Extenike developed the first years of his career as a researcher in laboratories and academic institutions in the United States, Denmark and Sweden, before occupying square hired Professor of solid state physics at the University of Barcelona (1978-1980). In 1980 he returned to the Basque country to assume the position of Director of education in the nationalist Executive of Carlos Garaikoetxea, and between 1983 and 1984, he combined the responsibility in front of the Ministry of education and culture with the work of the regional government's spokesman.

After his political stage, she resumed scientific activity as a visiting professor at the Cavendish Laboratory of Cambridge (1984-1986) until in 1986 it joined as Professor to the University of the Basque country in San Sebastián. Since it occupies the Chair of Physics of the matter condensed in the UPV and heads a scientific group which leads, at the international level, the theoretical research in the field of electron microscopy. Professor Etxenike is on the front as well as Center mixed CSIC-UPV of physical materials; a unit of academic research associated with the CSIC. Finally, it assumed the Presidency of the Donostia International Physics Center (DIPC); scientific foundation, created with the aim of promoting the internationalization of the activities of the Department of Physics of the materials of the Faculty of chemical of the UPV and of the aforementioned Center mixed CSIC-UPV.

Scientific and technological consultant of the company Iberdrola, Scientific Adviser of the BBVA Foundation and Board member of excellence of the Eusko Ikaskuntza (society of Basque Studies), Echenique is external member of Churchill College, Cambridge, Honorary Fellow of the American physical society, Member of the Spain-USA Council, of the Trilateral Commission, the Royal Basque society of friends the country, of the Royal Academy of Sciences and arts of Barcelona and of the Royal Academy of exact, physical and natural sciences.

Named honorary citizen of his home town and "Universal Basque" (1998), has merited Awards scientific as the Xabier María Munibe prize of science and technology (1996), the Dupont Award for Science (1996), the Euskadi award for research (1996), awarded the Max Plank in Physics (1998), the Prince of Asturias Award for scientific and technical research ex-aequo with the also Spanish physicist Emilio Méndez Pérezthe Iberdrola prize of science and technology (2002) and the Premio Nacional de Blas career research in the area of physical sciences, materials and land (2005). Possesses also the Prince of Viana of the culture Award (1997), the great cross of Alfonso X el Sabio (1998), the Medal of gold of the University of the Basque country (1999) and the Medal of gold from the city of San Sebastián (2000).